Cyrano

Cyranoby Geraldine McCaughrean. Romantic and heroic this beautiful re-telling of the story of Cyrano de Bergerac is a treat for young adults and adults alike – a real treasure!

 

 

The Left Bank

The Left Bankby Kate Muir. This is a wonderful, funny and bittersweet book which tells the story of the marriage of Madison and Olivier and of their daughter; it is so Parisien in its descriptions both geographical, culinary and socially and is hard to put down.

Bound to be a store favourite!

Angels in the Gloom

Angels in the Gloomby Anne Perry. Set in England, it continues the story of the Reavley brothers’ search for the Peacemaker who killed their parent and plots to reshape Europe and the world. It is filled with tension and excitement and peoples’ relationships in a time of strife and horror and grips one to the very end.

The Various Haunts of Men

The Various Haunts of Menby Susan Hill. In the vein of Ruth Rendell and P.D.James this book is much more than just a murder mystery; filled with interesting characters and situations it grips the reader until the very unexpected ending. It is available in paperback.

 

A Small Weeping

A Small Weeping is a most satisfactory mystery set in Glasgow and the Isle of Lewis by Alex Gray, a welcome new member of the Tartan noir pack which includes Ian Rankin and Val McDermid. It is a taut, gripping whodonit with great character development.

 

Girls In Pants – The Third Summer of the Sister

Girls In Pantsby Ann Brashares This book comes from a good series so obviously it’s good. It’s about Carmen, Lens, Bridget and Tibby. Three summers ago, the sisterhood was going to dive into their first summer apart. Now they are entering their third. Lena is trying to find out who she is. She has a job & is going to art school. Her nasty old grandmother (the one who tried to get her & Kostos together the first summer) has been living with Lena since Babi, her grandgather died. Carmen want a job so she volunteers her time to look after Lena’s grandmother. She immediately regrets this decision because while at tan ice cream shop, she meets a guy she wants to date. Bridget is off to soccer camp again. You’ll never guess who she sees there & once more Bridget is crazy in love. Finally Tibby. She’s figuring out what the pants have trying to tell her all this time. And trying to figure Brian out as well. Girls In Pants, part 3, fits in great with the other 2 in the series. I hope there will be more. Ages 12 and up.

Reviewed by Gabby Belyea, age 11

Until I Find You

Until I Find You John Irving‘s new book is an entirely engrossing, very funny coming of age story with all the quirks we have come to expect from him. Having read all the recent reviews and learning how close to the bone the story is makes one realize what a deft touch he has.

 

A Year in the Merde

A Year in the Merdeby Stephen Clarke is a true summer read; it is light and funny and can be excused for slipping into silliness from time to time. An Englishman opening a business in France is frustrated and amused by the reception he gets from his Parisian colleagues but ultimately he becomes comfortable in the country and finds he is at home there and can handle the problems he has to deal with. It is laugh-aloud and a commentary on the French that is amusing if sometimes exaggerated in its criticism.

The Pagan Chronicles

The Pagan Chroniclesby Catherine Jinks is the first of a four volume adventure series about Pagan, a young man living during the time of the Crusades. It takes place in Jerusalem and is exciting, fast-moving and historically interesting. Books 1 and 2 are now available in paperback.