Titles@Table40 with Beverley McLachlin

We are so excited to welcome former Chief Justice of Canada, Beverley McLachlin to our Titles@Table40 series! She will be joining us to talk about her new novel Full Disclosure.

Date: Sunday, June 17
Time: 5:30pm
Place: Table 40, 7 Springfield Road (next to The Fraser Cafe)

Here’s how it works:
The evening starts at 5:30pm with dinner, followed by the author presentation and book signing. Tickets must be purchased in advance at the bookstore. The non-refundable cost is $60.00which includes the cost of the meal (a set menu of three courses with a vegetarian option), tax and tip. All beverages are extra and will be charged at the end of the evening. The Fraser Cafe can accommodate all special dietary needs if we’re informed at the bookstore in advance.

About the book: “From the former Chief Justice of Canada comes a riveting thriller starring Jilly Truitt, a rising, young defense attorney faced with a case that hits close to home. A searing look at what justice means in the courts and on the streets, Full Disclosure is perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs, Louise Penny, and Lisa Scottoline.”

Call or visit us to purchase your tickets today!
Books on Beechwood
35 Beechwood Avenue
613-742-5030

Titles@Table40 with Fen Hampson

Local political writer and university professor Fen Hampson will be joining us at our favourite neighbourhood restaurant next month for our first Titles@Table40 event of 2018! He will be talking about his new book Master of Persuasion: Brian Mulroney’s Global Legacy.

Date: Sunday, June 3
Time: 5:30pm
Place: Table 40, 7 Springfield Road (next to The Fraser Cafe)

Here’s how it works:
The evening starts at 5:30pm with dinner, followed by the author presentation and book signing. Tickets must be purchased in advance at the bookstore. The non-refundable cost is $60.00 which includes the cost of the meal (a set menu of three courses with a vegetarian option), tax and tip. All beverages are extra and will be charged at the end of the evening. The Fraser Cafe can accommodate all special dietary needs if we’re informed at the bookstore in advance.

Call or visit us to purchase your tickets today!
Books on Beechwood
35 Beechwood Avenue
613-742-5030

Titles@Table40 with Davin de Kergommeaux

Whether it’s the nose, the peaty taste, or just the intriguing glassware that does it for you, the world of whisky has a little bit of something for everyone. We’re very excited to announce that Canadian whisky expert Davin de Kergommeaux will be joining us in late November for a spirit-filled evening in our Titles@Table40 series. Just in time to start your holiday season off right, be sure to join us for a delicious dinner, great conversation, and a wee dram!

Date: Sunday, November 26
Time: 5:30pm
Place: Table 40, 7 Springfield Road (next to The Fraser Cafe)

Here’s how it works:
The evening starts at 5:30pm with dinner, followed by the author presentation and book signing. Tickets must be purchased in advance at the bookstore. The non-refundable cost is $60.00 which includes the cost of the meal (a set menu of three courses with a vegetarian option), tax and tip. All beverages are extra and will be charged at the end of the evening. The Fraser Cafe can accommodate all special dietary needs if informed in advance.

Call or visit us to purchase your tickets today!
Books on Beechwood
35 Beechwood Avenue
613-742-5030

Fall Lineup for Titles@Table40

That’s right! Our ever-popular dinner series is back! With a few slight changes and a brand new crop of great Canadian authors for you to wine and dine with, we hope to make your dining experience with us even better than before. We are so looking forward to once again joining forces with our wonderful neighbours at The Fraser Cafe to bring you enjoyable evenings of great food, good drink, and fascinating authors!

Here’s how it works:
The evening starts at 5:30pm with dinner, followed by the author presentation and book signing. Tickets must be purchased in advance at the bookstore. The non-refundable cost is $60.00 which includes the cost of the meal (a set menu of three courses with a vegetarian option), tax and tip. All beverages are extra and will be charged at the end of the evening. The Fraser Cafe can accommodate all special dietary needs if informed in advance.

Call or visit us to purchase your tickets today!
Books on Beechwood
35 Beechwood Avenue
613-742-5030


Ottawa author France Itani is helping us kick off event season with her new novel That’s My Baby. Picking up on the story threads which began in Deafening and continued in Tell, this new book follows eighteen year old Hanora, a young woman who, having just discovered that she was adopted as a baby, sets off to discover the mystery of her roots on the eve of the Second World War.

Date: Sunday, September 10
Time: 5:30pm
Place: Table 40, 7 Springfield Road (next to The Fraser Cafe)


For a taste of Newfoundland culture and storytelling, Wayne Johnston will be paying us a visit to talk about First Light, Last Snow which is being touted as “an epic family mystery with a powerful, surprise ending.”  When Ned Vatcher returns home from school one day to find his parents gone without a trace, his life becomes defined by his need to uncover the mystery behind the Vanished Vatchers.

Date: Wednesday, October 11
Time: 5:30pm
Place: Table 40, 7 Springfield Road (next to The Fraser Cafe)


Get a dose of funny when Terry Mosher comes by to talk about his new book From Trudeau to Trudeau. This compilation of fifty years worth of cartoons from The Montreal Gazette is full of celebrated victories, elusive dreams, and skewered politicians, all in classic Aislin style!

Date: Sunday, October 22
Time: 5:30pm
Place: Table 40, 7 Springfield Road (next to The Fraser Cafe)


Tickets for all of these dinner events are available now through the bookstore.

Be sure to buy yours early as they tend to go quite quickly!

Mary Walsh @ Clarkstown

Mary Walsh has written a novel called Crying for the Moon and she’s coming to Beechwood to talk to us about it! That’s right, we will be hosting a dinner event (like our Titles@Table40 series) at another bustling Beechwood restaurant, Clarkstown Kitchen & Bar. With the same set up as Titles@Table40 (see details below), we’re very excited to be teaming up with another one of our neighbours to put together a fun, book- and food-filled night for you all to enjoy.

When: Friday, May 19 @ 5:30pm
Where: Clarkstown Kitchen & Bar, 94 Beechwood Avenue (Second Floor, No Elevator)

How It Works:

The evening starts at 5:30pm with dinner, followed by the author presentation and book signing. Attendees must reserve their spot through the bookstore with a non-refundable deposit of $20.00 which will go towards the cost of a 3 course meal (3 choices including a vegetarian option). The total cost of the meal is $40.00 plus tax, 18% gratuity and refreshments.

Although tickets have just gone on sale, we suspect that they’ll go quickly, so call (613-742-5030) or visit us at the store to reserve your spot today!

Titles@Table40 with Tim Cook – March 2017

Join us for our first Titles@Table40 evening of 2017! Beloved local historian Tim Cook will be on hand to talk about his new book Vimy: The Battle and the Legend.

When: Sunday, March 26 at 5:30pm

Where: Table 40, 7 Springfield Road

The evening starts at 5:30pm with dinner, followed by the author presentation and book signing. Attendees must reserve their spot at the bookstore with a non-refundable deposit of $20.00 which will go towards the cost of the meal (a set menu with a vegetarian option). The total cost of the meal is $40.00, which includes a three course meal (family-style). No substitutions will be allowed.

Tax, 18% gratuity, and refreshments are not included.

Tickets for this event are available in-store now! They’re bound to go quickly, so call us or come by to get yours today!

Titles@Table40 with William McElligott

ottawacanadabookiipicJoin us for a wonderful Titles@Table40 evening full of local history and photographs with Ottawa photographer William McElligott. He will be presenting a slideshow of beautiful photographs of our Nation’s Capital as well as talking about his brand new coffee table book Ottawa Canada II.

When: Sunday, November 20 at 5:30pm

Where: Table 40, 7 Springfield Road

The evening starts at 5:30pm with dinner, followed by the author presentation and book signing. Attendees must reserve their spot at the bookstore with a non-refundable deposit of $20.00 which will go towards the cost of the meal (a set menu with a vegetarian option). The total cost of the meal is $40.00, which includes a three course meal (family-style). No substitutions will be allowed.

Tax, 18% gratuity, and refreshments are not included.

Tickets for this event are now on sale. Call us or come by to get yours today!

Titles@Table40 with Steve Patterson

stevepattersonJoin us for a Titles@Table40 evening of fun and laughter with the host of CBC’s The DebatersSteve Patterson!

When: Wednesday, October 26 at 5:30pm

Where: Table 40, 7 Springfield Road

The evening starts at 5:30pm with dinner, followed by the author presentation and book signing. Attendees must reserve their spot at the bookstore with a non-refundable deposit of $20.00 which will go towards the cost of the meal (a set menu with a vegetarian option). The total cost of the meal is $40.00, which includes a three course meal (family-style). No substitutions will be allowed.

Tax, 18% gratuity, and refreshments are not included.

Tickets are are going fast, so call or visit us to reserve your spot today!

Titles@Table40 with Anne DesBrisay

ottawacooksJoin us for our first Table 40 event of the fall as we welcome local restaurant reviewer Anne DesBrisay! Her new cookbook, Ottawa Cooks, features recipes and stories from some of our Nation’s Capital’s most famous chefs.

When: Sunday, September 18 @ 5:30pm

Where: Table 40, 7 Springfield Road

The evening starts at 5:30pm with dinner, followed by the author presentation and book signing. Attendees must reserve their spot at the bookstore with a non-refundable deposit of $20.00 which will go towards the cost of the meal (a set menu with a vegetarian option). The total cost of the meal is $40.00, which includes a three course meal (family-style). No substitutions will be allowed.

Tax, 18% gratuity, and refreshments are not included.

Tickets are now available through the bookstore! Call or visit us to reserve your spot today!

Titles@Table40 with Mark Cullen

markcullenJoin us at Table 40 for our first ever Titles@Table40 lunch event! Canadian garden expert Mark Cullen will be speaking about his new book The New Canadian Garden.

When: Wednesday, May 18 @ 11:30am

Where: Table 40, 7 Springfield Road

The event starts at 11:30am with lunch, followed by the author presentation and book signing. Attendees must reserve their spot through the bookstore with a non-refundable deposit of $15.00 which will go towards the cost of the meal (a set menu with a vegetarian option). The total cost of the meal is $29.00, which includes a three course meal. No substitutions will be allowed.

Tax, 18% gratuity, and refreshments are not included.

Tickets for this event are available now at our store! Call or visit us to reserve your spot today!